Review: Come Tumbling Down

Come Tumbling Down

by Seanan McGuire

Book 5 in the Wayward Children series

Whoa. Been a while. Sorry, friends.

I’m back, though, and I’m super excited to talk about the latest in one of my favorite series, Seanan McGuire’s Wayward Children.

First of all, let me start by saying that I love this series with all my little bookish heart. I love the concept — a community of misfit kids, all longing to go back to where they truly belong, no one longing for the same world but everyone understanding what it’s like to be lost.

I read Books 1 through 4 with devotion, loving every world. This was the first book that was dedicated to a fantasy world that had already gotten a full book’s focus.

I was a little bit disappointed. There was still a lot to discover about the Moors — the world of this book — but I’ve been waiting since Book 4 to explore a new one. I guess my thinking was, This had better be good for her to keep us in the Moors again.

It was… fine. The writing was spectacular as always and the characters were beautifully defined. But they were the same characters I saw in the last Moors book, and that’s not why I go back over and over again to Wayward Children.

I go for new worlds. I pick up these books because I want to learn more about all of the characters that Seanan McGuire creates to populate that strange and wonderful boarding school.

There was one more thing that bugged me, too. Don’t read the next paragraph if you haven’t read this book! If no one points this thing out to you, maybe you won’t notice it. But if you have read the book…

Why is she throwing around the word “hero” all the time, when it was never a focus before? Did she suddenly get into My Hero Academia? Everyone should because it’s amazing, but heroism and saving people and stuff was never a focus of Wayward Children. AFAIK, Wayward is about discovering who you are and living authentically in whatever world will have you.

That is what I want to see in this series.

Oh well… there’s always Book 6.